Lessons from Will Hunting

by saynotospandex

I have been squirreling away a list of movies that I need to re/watch, and every now and then I run through the list slowly and pick what I think might inspire me. It’s really like visiting a shrink because I sit on the couch and zone out for 2 hours, except this is much cheaper.

Sometimes I feel like I’m so different from everyone else around me; everyone has different histories, struggles and different dreams and things that keep them up at night. And this feeling goes away after watching a film and you see strangers leaving comments behind on how they relate to it just like you do, and you think maybe we’re not all that different in our struggles afterall.

I really liked Good Will Hunting and here are some of my favorite quotes from the movie:

“Real loss is only possible when you love something more than you love yourself.” – Sean

“You’re not perfect, sport, and let me save you the suspense: this girl you’ve met, she’s not perfect either. But the question is whether or not you’re perfect for each other.” – Sean

Skylar: Maybe we could go out for coffee sometime?

Will: Great, or maybe we could go somewhere and just eat a bunch of caramels. 

Skylar: What?

Will: When you think about it, it’s just as arbitrary as drinking coffee.

Skylar: (laughs) Okay, sounds good.

If I asked you about love, you’d probably quote me a sonnet, but you’ve never looked at a woman and been totally vulnerable. Known someone that could level you with her eyes. Feelin’ like God put an angel on Earth just for you, who could rescue you from the depths of hell. And you wouldn’t know what it’s like to be her angel, to have that love for her be there forever. Through anything. Through cancer. And you wouldn’t know about sleepin’ sittin’ up in a hospital room for two months, holding her hand, because the doctors could see in your eyes that the terms “visiting hours” don’t apply to you. You don’t know about real loss, ’cause that only occurs when you love something more than you love yourself. I doubt you’ve ever dared to love anybody that much. – Sean

