On aging

by saynotospandex

Lesson #32 in aging: you actually need to work out, and work hard for that body.

Gwyneth Paltrow said it before but I didn’t believe her when I was younger. Now, at 30 I know exactly what she means. I never used to bother myself with such physical details but lately I’ve noticed bits of flesh popping out of nowhere. I’d mistaken them for my butt but unfortunately it sits in that realm which is neither butt nor hip, and I’d like to think of them as Region X which developed as a result of sitting at my desk 8 hours a day.

“The reason that I can be 38 and have two kids and wear a bikini is because I work my ass off. It’s not an accident. It’s not luck, it’s not fairy dust, it’s not good genes. It’s killing myself for an hour and a half five days a week.”

And let’s not get started on how comfortable it feels to slip out of tight dresses into comfy pajamies, I’ll leave that for another day.

