weekends.

by saynotospandex

SLEEP IN & HYDRATE I am not a morning person at all and enjoy the luxury of sleeping in on weekends. The cats jump into bed between 7-8am and try to meow, or nudge us awake. Watson our ragdoll is especially persistent if he makes up his mind. My husband Nick gets up eventually while I sleep through until between 9 and 10am. I check my phone which is a really bad habit and then go through 2 glasses of water to hydrate.

COFFEE AND READING I fast every morning and skip breakfast until my first meal at about noon. Nick is usually out cycling with the boys and so I relish the quietness at home with my book and time by myself. I’ve been constantly glued to my phone and recently I started a reading challenge to get myself to be on social media less. I have gone through 8 books in the last 4 months. I enjoy the blocks of hours I get to read non-stop if I am on a good fiction. I used to only read non-fiction, got bored and now get inspirations from Bill Gates or what my friends have reviewed on Goodreads. One of the last book I’ve really enjoyed was Pachinko by Min Jin Lee.

ASIAN FOR LUNCH When my husband is back sweaty from his bike ride, we might pop out for lunch in our neighborhood on our bikes. One of our favorite places is a deli round the corner which does fresh sausage rolls. Part of the Sunday fun is convincing my husband to have Asian food for lunch. We love our neighborhood because there’s a great mix of local food and cafes all within cycling distance. We are big on our bikes and use them to go out to the train station on weekdays, and to get lunch on weekends.

OUT & ABOUT After lunch, if there are no errands that need to be done, we would either sit in a cafe and read, cycle to the beach, or do a grocery run. Nick likes to get groceries delivered but I love browsing in supermarkets and picking up bits & bobs for dinner especially if I am cooking that Sunday night. I also love visiting this little fruit shop and buying a huge bag of passionfruit for the week ahead. I am obsessed with passionfruit and have two every night after dinner. Sometimes we pop into the cinema and treat ourselves to gourmet popcorn, and recliner seats with blankets.

REGIMES, REGIMES I have an incredibly long skincare routine based on how my skin is feeling. Sundays are when I try to squeeze in time for a face sheet mask, or giving myself a face massage, or a body scrub – I am obsessed with the one from Aseop – or take a bath. I dim the lights, drop in some bubbles and a bath bomb, and then just lie in there for 20 minutes. I suspect the reason I like being in the bath so much is because it’s the only time I switch off and am not on my phones.

TAKING TURNS We used to do this thing where we take turns to cook on Sundays but have gone off it for a while. I recently re-discovered the joys of cooking with bon appetit recipes and have been making this magic crispy chicken. If he’s cooking, I catch up on my own Netflix shows. After dinner, we have a cup of fruit yogurt, some passion fruit and take ages to pick a Netflix film. One of us might fall asleep on the couch, if not we try to go to bed by 1130pm. Watson knows when it’s bedtime and comes into the room with us for his spot on the bed.